top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

Cupping Massage and Treating Chronic Pain

For those of you who are unfamilliar with what cupping is it is an acient Chinese therapy that uses suction or vacuum therapy to get deep into the muscles to ease pain and work out issues. The therapist uses small various sized glass cups or bamboo jars to create suction on areas of the skin. The skin is gently drawn upwards by creating a vacuum in the cup over the target area. The cup stays in place for five to fifteen minutes or can be glided over target areas. Cupping therapy is used to help treat pain, deep scar tissues in the muscles and connective tissues, swelling and knots in the muscles. Some other known therapeutic effects of massage cupping bodywork include: lymph drainage, loosen adhesions, move stagnation, relieve inflamation, stimulate blood flow, and sedate the nervous system. As you can see massage cupping offers many physical benefits along with the relaxation and soothing benefits of massage. We've recently started offering massage cupping at Brilliant Bodywork with the addition of one of our newest massage therapists Kelsey Lyons. Kelsey brought along with her a plethora of knowledge and skill when she began here a few months ago. Recently Kelsey had a client come in, Taylor Harris, who had been dealing with chronic pain, Taylor is a younger woman who had struggled to find relief from her syptoms and Kelsey and her decided to try the cupping massage, here is what Taylor said about her experience: "I have struggled with chronic pain for years. My symptoms included constant headaches, decreased range of motion, pain in my forearms and my left shoulder was constantly tightening and creeping up along with neck pain. I had struggled to find relief for my symptoms and when Kelsey suggessted we try the massage cupping technique in order to get in deeper to the muscles, I was open to giving it a chance. I was glad I tried the cupping massage because doing the treatment gave me 3 weeks of pain relief. During the next 3 weeks I had increased range of motion, my movements were not as restricted and I was able to even participate in yoga! Since the first cupping massage I've come back in a couple times for more and each time I have 3 weeks of pain relief, this has increased my quality of life by not allowing my chronic pain issues to control my life. Kelsey does a great job with the cupping massage technique and I recommend this massage to anyone dealing with pain issues that can be helped with massage. I had a great experience and will continue with this treatment to get the results that have made such an impact on how I live my life."

bottom of page