top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle

RECENT POSTS: 

No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

Acne Does Not Discriminate

Acne is defined as an inflammatory disease of the sebaceous glands, characterized by comedones and pimples, especially on the face, back, and chest, and,in severe cases, by cysts and nodules that may result in scarring. In other words acne is caused when the pores of the skin become clogged by oil, dead skin and bacteria. Acne can range from mild to severe and everything in between, however the severity is not an indicator of how the person suffering with the acne feels. Even mild acne can cause emotional struggles for people. Unfortunately for many suffering with acne it may feel like a losing battle. Acne sufferers may feel self-conscious, insecure and worry that other people are just seeing the acne and not them. Also their are certain stereotypes and myths that come along with acne, such as the idea that acne sufferers must be unclean or not hygienic. This is not the case, the majority of those suffering with acne have developed acne for a variety of reasons such as genetics, hormones, stress, diets and infection. Acne does not discriminate, it happens to the majority of people at somepoint in their lifetime and it doesn't matter if you are wealthy or average or poor or famous or black or white or any variation there of, acne happens to EVERYONE! Sometime however it is easy to feel like celebrities must never have acne, they are always styled to perfection and flawlesely airbrushed, but underneath all that they are people like you and me who suffer from the same things like acne. For instance

Kendall Jenner recently opened up on her blog about her experience with acne, Kendall said she had bad acne starting when she was about 12 or 13, which she said "happens to SO many people.""Where it really impacted me was how self-conscious I became about it," she wrote. "It completely ruined my self-esteem. I wouldn't even look at people when I talked to them. I felt like such an outcast; when I spoke, it was with my hand covering my face. Sure, I had crushes in high school, but I wouldn't even think about looking at guys."She credited her family with helping her through it, including big sister Kim Kardashian, who comforted her once when she broke down in tears. Since then, she said she's managed to get it under control and is now learning to brush it off because no one is perfect, ever."Even after things started to clear up, it took a solid amount of time to be okay with my skin and gain back my confidence," Kendall wrote. "Slowly, I'm working towards not caring and I'm just in so much of a better place about it all now that I'm older. I realized that it's a part of life for some people and it doesn't define who you are." Great advice from Kendall, acne does not need to define who you are! If you are concerned about yourself or a loved ones battle with acne please feel free to give us a call and we would love to get you in for a free skin consult for our Face Reality Acne Clinic program. Acne is not something you have to suffer through, we can help get you looking and feeling better about your appearance and yourself. Here is a before and after of a client that went through our program:

bottom of page